Tripadvisor  
 

“Love This Place!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

There's the food: Their name brand pasta is really good. The grated cheese is the best around and good value. Ahh...the Italian cookies. And then there are the people - always friendly. Waiting in line is always a pleasure because of the good conversation.
 
     
 

“Nice Italian Deli”
Description: 5 of 5 starsReviewed February 5, 2013

Great sandwiches. Excellent staff very friendly and helpful. If you can avoid lunch time if you think that you will have questions, not that you wont get the same great service but you may get dirty looks from the guys ordering lunch.
 
     
 

“Great sandwich place with the sweetest staff! Highly recommend for a cheap/quick bite and also have a small grocery...”
Description: 5 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2008

Great sandwich place with the sweetest staff! Highly recommend for a cheap/quick bite and also have a small grocery store section.
 
     
 

Google

 
     
 

Michael Fucilli
4 months ago
Best homemade meatballs, ever. Great selection of pastas and other imports as well as reasonably priced deli sandwiches.

 
     
 

George Wheeler
9 months ago
Excellent subs, friendly staff, and amazing meatballs! Whether you're looking for a fantastic sandwich for lunch, or you're looking for homemade meatballs and pastas, this is the place you want to check out.

 
     
 

A Google User
3 years ago
Amazing place... I had the buffalo chicken sub for the first time there: got some bleu cheese, lettuce, tomato, onion, banana peppers and I really had a field day with this sub. Price is better than Subway for sure, and quality of meats and veggies are no competition. Really the best place I've gotten a sub from.

 
     
 

A Google User
3 years ago
Best Italian mix sub in the city (and probably the best I have had, ever). Excellent value, too.

 
     
 

Chris Kuder
5 months ago
Always great food no matter what you get good prices and great service always friendly and smiling...best tortellini salad around.

 
     
 

Google User
3 years ago
Top quality ingredients, very friendly family owned place, at the lowest prices of any sub shop I've been to in the area. Footlong Boars Head Turkey Sub, Cheese, Lettuce, Tomato, Mayo for about $5.50. Subway uses junk imitation meat and that same sub is over $8 bucks. Best deli in Schenectady.

 
     
 

A Google User
3 years ago
I love this deli! Their sauce and meatballs taste like my own. When I dont feel like cookie too much, I go here and pick up dinner. Ask the ladies any thing, they ll tel you how to cook it. not too expensive, def worth it!

 
     
 

A Google User
4 years ago
This is the place to get a great sub for a great price, the people are always nice, just that simple.

 
     
 

Yelp

 
     
 

Heather F., Schenectady, NY

7/9/2014
Best Summer Sausage around! We stock up and buy 12 since you can only get them from Memorial Day to Labor Day! I have been going here with my family since I was a child and will continue to go there. Great family business with friendly service!

 
     
 

Dawn M., Schenectady, NY

7/8/2014
Best subs ever and we cannot figure out why they are so damn good. Must be the freshness of everything being sliced right then and there. We can't stay away although our waistlines wish we would!

 
     
 

Benny W., Schenectady, NY

3/27/2014
Historic Italian deli/grocery on Northside. Best deli in the Capital District. Try the imported mortadella and cheeses. Do not compare to tasteless supermarket delis. Many Italian frozen desserts in glass. The place for Easter rice and ricotta pies.

 
     
 

Rob L., Westside, Buffalo, NY

7/30/2014
Definitely a hidden gem in Schenectady!  Stopped in for a quick lunch, from out of town, and was more than impressed.  Had the sausage and pepper sub with mozzarella and red sauce.  Once I got over the size of this sandwich, I was blindsided by the taste of it.  Other sandwiches I saw were just as large and looked just as good!  I don't see myself visiting Schenectady anytime again soon, but if I do, I would seriously consider returning. Prices are surprisingly cheap for what you receive, and the staff was very friendly!

 
     
 

Luci D., Schenectady, NY

3/16/2013
Recently tried their homemade sausage and I think it will be my new regular... I have been here a number of times over the last 15+ years. It is of no fault of theirs that since Gina Lucia Stopped selling her amazing Italian ice at La Gioia I do not frequent there as often as I used to. However I recall their meatballs and sauce being great substitutions for homemade, recently purchased their frozen cavatelli which was very very good. I will definitely buy some more the next time I make sauce. Subs are great - I am not a huge fan of boars head (I think the meat they used before tasted better) but they are hefty and fresh and make the entire store smell amazing. Lots of little Italian recipe supplies as well as grocery items. A great place to stop while in the area.

 
     
 

Kris M.,A Schenectady, NY

9/24/2012
Best Italian take out deli in the area hands down. The sandwiches are the real stuff and so delicious. The staff make you feel like family, and I think it is really family run. Not to be missed when in Schenectady. La Gioia IS as good as it gets!